Changeable weather

Today’s picture has been sent to me from across the water by a fellow blogger, Jerry Vis (Quiet Solo Pursuits),  and  I am delighted that he has taken the trouble.  His blog is well worth a visit if you like good bird pictures accompanied by the occasional rant (and canoeing).

Jerry's Eagle
You don’t see a lot of these round here.

You couldn’t see much of anything at all round here this morning  as the snow was coming down by the bucketful when I got up.

Snow

Mrs Tootlepedal went off to sing in the church choir and I put a week of the newspaper index into the database and by the time that we met up again, this was all that was left…

light snow
Not exactly a snow drift.

As the snow melted, the birds took up their positions.

jackdaw
A rare visit from a jackdaw
brambling
A brambling is a lot more common at the moment.
chaffinch
The chaffinches are with us all year round

I was just thinking that it might be possible to go for a cycle ride after lunch when…..

snow
It started to snow heavily.

I thought that would be that for the day but once again the snow started to melt as rapidly as it had arrived.  The birds were not discouraged.

feeder activity

There were some head to head confrontations.

siskins
Siskins face up
A greenfinch and chaffinch see eye to eye
A greenfinch and chaffinch see eye to eye
two chaffinches
Two chaffinches indulge in a hard staring competition

Our big chicken had its back to the wind today.

chicken

A lot of activity
There was a lot of activity
two bramblings
A pair of bramblings couldn’t stand the pace and left.

So rapid was the disappearance of the snow that about an hour after taking these pictures, I was able to get out the slow bike and pedal the three miles up to Wauchope Schoolhouse just to stretch my legs.  You might have thought that it was a pleasant day…

Sheep grazing

…and it was as long as you weren’t trying to cycle back to Langholm into the teeth of a howling, gusty, freezing wind.  I had to engage a low gear and pedal like fun even when going down the hills.  I had thought of going a bit further when the wind was behind me on the way out but I was very glad that I didn’t.  At one moment, a particularly heavy gust nearly brought me to a dead stop.

Out of a clear sky as I puffed my way home, a few ominous flurries of snow appeared and it was not long after I was safely ensconced in a comfy chair near a radiator, that the snow started again.

snow
Not quite so spectacular this time though.

The rest of the afternoon and the evening were spent not going outside.

The flying bird of the day is a composite of wings at the feeder.

collage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

22 thoughts on “Changeable weather

  1. Thanks for the shout out, and your wonderful photos. I have come to the conclusion that the weather there is even more changeable than it is here, and we’re known to have all four seasons in a day. It looks like you get all four in an hour at times.

    1. I’ll have to consult the gardener on that but not nearly as long as you might think. It grows all the time of course and gets clipped once a year.

  2. Amazing the sudden changes of scene with the snow coming and going like that. Very brave to bicyle in the freezing wind. It has made its way down here today and the first flakes of snow are whirling around.

  3. That’s quite a weather day. Rides that start with the wind at your back are always problematic. Much better to take on the challenge at the start and enjoy the ride home, in my opinion.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.