A cough and a croak

In view of another gloomy day here, I thought that a nice bright guest picture from Bath might cheer things up.  My sister Mary has provided me with one.

Bath October 2017 016

I am having more difficulty in throwing off the cold than I expected and in view of another gloomy day outside, I got up for breakfast and then retired back to bed until lunch time.

This was a good plan and I got up refreshed enough to have thoughts of a light lunch and a walk in mind.  The light lunch was achieved but rain interrupted any idea of a walk so I put the camera up at the kitchen window and sulked.

I looked for matching pairs.

blue tits

chaffinch

Once again traffic was light and the light was poor so even a small but regular supply of flying chaffinches was not very satisfactory.

chaffinches flying

Mrs Tootlepedal had hoped to do some gardening after spending the morning catching up on business but the rain put her off too so we got in the car and drove to a garden centre.

She had wallflowers and bulbs in mind and after passing through about an acre of Christmas tat, she found some and as we needed a bit of cheering up, she added a few more impulsive purchases too.  The garden should look good in time.

I stocked up on some varied bird food and some fresh vegetables from the fruit and veg store at the entrance to the garden centre.

We went home feeling that we had at least done something good on a dull day.

The clouds were well clamped down on the hills when we got back to Langholm and it was too gloomy for a look round the garden so it was rather annoying when Mrs Tootlepedal spotted  that we had an unusual visitor in the dam.

heron in dam

I rushed into the house to get my camera, certain that the heron would be gone before I got out.  As you can see, I was mistaken and the heron stood patiently while I tried to find a setting that would take a half decent shot in poor conditions.  It even stayed quite still while I tried the flash.

By luck more than good judgement, the camera worked well once.

heron

For those interested it was a hand held shot at f/6.3 and a shutter speed of 1/8th with an ISO of 1600 with the zoom at 120mm   Either my hand was remarkably steady or the Lumix has a very intelligent processor.

I turned some of the  spinach I had just bought into a spinach, egg and cheese sauce bake for my tea and then tottered off to a Langholm Sings choir practice.  Our conductor is still poorly so we had out back up man again but we got through a lot more work and had a good session.  I pity the poor sopranos who were sitting in front of me as I creaked and croaked through the songs but I enjoyed myself.

I may have set my recovery back a bit though.

We are promised some sunshine tomorrow which we should  help but I did get one slightly better flying chaffinch of the day in the lunchtime gloom.

flying chaffinch

 

 

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

31 thoughts on “A cough and a croak

      1. True. Purists of the old school say that digital photography destroys proper photographic discipline. I say bring on the failures.

      2. I can see their point, but as the more advanced photographers have always used darkroom trickery or photoshop I’m not sure the discipline ever existed.

        I completely agree with your attitude – the more the merrier!

      3. The discipline for me mostly consisted of throwing failed Box Brownie prints of my thumb away when they came back for the developers so I don’t mourn the passing of the good old days.

      4. I remember two great sets of prints I got back – one of a military passing out parade and one of sunsets and Swiss chalets. Sadly I hadn’t taken either of them.

  1. While I wouldn’t dream of minimising your own skill, I would just say that my (only) camera is a Lumix and I think it’s absolutely brilliant. It will take what it calls ‘multiple images’ if my hand is shaking a bit, and then merge them.

  2. I hope that cold doesn’t stay long. You’ve reminded me that I told myself I’d get a flu shot this year for the first time ever.
    Nice of the heron to pose right in the back yard. Maybe it will make it a regular stop.
    I can’t wait to see Mrs. T.s impulsive buys in the garden next season. I hope they were dahlia and poppy seeds.

    1. She has been collecting seeds from her own poppies. There were tulips and geraniums. She hasn’t grown any of her own geraniums this year so needed to get some ready made ones.

  3. Well done with Mr G’s relative.
    So sorry about your cold and sore throat – you did very well to get to choir at all.

  4. I like both your heron photos- especially the reflection. Hope the fresh veg and their Vit C help towards your full recovery.

  5. Love the Great Blue Heron shots, he was indeed obliging. Hoping the sun does come out for you tomorrow, it’ll give you a lift in spirits. That and the fresh foods you bought! I had sunshine today and went for walk, and I do feel better with my cold. We’ll see how tonight goes…

  6. I love the bird panels, and your heron visitor. You have steady hands, and a good camera.

    Cold viruses are hard to shake off, especially at this time of year. Hope you feel better soon.

  7. It’s getting to be the time of year when there isn’t enough light for photography most of the time, so you’ve done well with the heron. Good IS is a life saver, or at least an image saver.

  8. Your Lumix is much better than the one I used to have, although I suspect it is more your expertise than anything else. The heron is spectacular. It seems they are almost everywhere.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.