Farewell to our visitors

Today’s guest picture is another of my brother Andrew’s shots from his trip along the Thames yesterday. He has a lot of things to do just now, and he says that his head is spinning a lot faster than the London Eye was going round.

Annie cooked some cheese and marmite pinwheels yesterday, and they mysteriously disappeared so rapidly that more had to be made today to provide snacks for the journey back to London. I thought that I might try my hand at them as they are very tasty, so I went down to the co-op and bought some more ready rolled puff pastry and cheese, and made a couple of batches myself when I got home. The second batch was necessary because the first wasn’t quite to up the standard that I had hoped. The end result was quite good though

I am going to experiment with different fillings; raisins and brown sugar come to mind.

After the cooking and the taste testing was completed, I had time for a look at the birds. It had been another sub zero morning when we woke up but it was sunny and the temperature had climbed up to three degrees by coffee time. I liked the different perching styles adopted by these two goldfinches.

The feeder was quite busy . . .

. . . and although the sunshine was welcome, my bird timing was adrift and for every flying bird in the sunshine, I caught three in the shade

I had a quick walk round the garden and got whistled at by a starling in the holly tree . . .

. . . and was pleased to find that the morning frost had not discouraged our little bunch of snow drops.

Annie packed everything up, and then we packed Annie and Evie and their luggage in to the car, and drove them down to Carlisle Station. The train was on time and not too busy, and we waved them goodbye as they rolled out of the station and on their way to London.

On our way back out of Carlisle, we had a fun time driving in circles round an industrial estate until we found the spot where the shoe repairer’s new premises are. We both put a pair of boots in for re-heeling, but mine may be beyond repair. He sucked his teeth but promised to try.

There was just time for a quick walk when we got home. The earlier sunshine had disappeared so I settled for a familiar low level walk, more for exercise than photography. There were some things to see on the way along the Becks track though.

Although it was cold and cloudy, it was a clear day, and I could look over the town, hidden in the valley, to the monument where we shivered in the sun with Evie and Annie two days ago.

I came back to Langholm by way of first Gaskell’s Walk and then Easton’s Walk. There were a several things to enjoy on the way.

I always like to see lichen on a tree trunk . . .

. . . and these two horses sharing their views on life appealed to me.

It is a continuing source of wonder that while so many trees in the wood along the river were brought down by Storm Arwen, more trees survived, some of them looking quite vulnerable to my eyes.

Going along the river, I recorded script lichen, a very red branch of a fallen tree, the all too common sight of a trunk cut to clear a path, and another little landslip.

In the park, the contrast between the large girth and rough bark of a conifer contrasted with the smooth and slender poplars beside the river.

It was very raw out, and I was pleased to get back to the warmth and comfort of our kitchen.

Our customary Friday night visitors, Mike and Alison are currently in New Zealand, so we had a quiet night in by ourselves.

The flying bird of the day is one of the few where the sun and I were in harmony this morning.

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

24 thoughts on “Farewell to our visitors

  1. The upward view of the trees is wonderfully striking – both the colours (or lack thereof) and perspective are very effective.

  2. It’s nice to see the snowdrops and the robins that visited while your daughter was there.
    Too bad the landslip is already happening to the new path.
    That’s another nice shot of the wing feathers on the flying bird of the day.

    1. If we get more of these sharp periods of frost, the banking may not survive unscathed for long. They have planted some holly to try to stabilise it but that might need more time to show whether it will be effective.

      1. I met a man who thought they they should concentrate on sowing grass rather than planting trees and shrubs. He thought that it would bind the bank more firmly.

  3. The marmite pinwheels look delicious, no wonder they disappeared so soon….
    So nice to see the snow drops coming up, we also see that the days started to get longer again 🙂

  4. Love the marmite and cheese pinwheels idea…I used up some left over mincemeat in mine! You found lots of interesting things on your short walk especially the lichen, the fungi and the ponies, who looked thoroughly down hearted at the prospect of another day in the field.

  5. As always, I enjoyed the walk and the interesting lichen and fungi. And those cheese and marmite pinwheels look very tempting. I just bought a jar of marmite so I might give them a try. Do you just put that and the cheese on top of the pastry?

  6. How sad it must have been to say farewell to Annie and Evie. Thought you might like to know we are watching Lockwood & Co. and are enjoying it very much. Those pastries look delicious!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.