Seeing the light

Today’s guest picture comes from our son Tony’s Welsh holiday. He knows that I like a good bridge.

We should have watered the trees at the Tarras Valley Nature Reserve Tree Nursery on Wednesday, but we were away having fun on trains, so we did it today instead. We pedalled up to the nursery on our electric bikes after breakfast and did the job. The trees will all be planted out this year, and meanwhile, they continue to do quite well in their small containers.

I stopped for a rest on the way out and shared a seat with a bumble bee, the liverworts are still thriving on the matting at the nursery, there is a lot of Herb Robert about, and foxgloves are starting to appear in big numbers.

When we got home, I made a small catalogue of roses in the garden . . .

. . . and added a new pink peony, a bee on a lupin, some fine philadelphus blossom, freshly flowering feverfew, and a carpet of tiny lesser trefoils beside the dam . . .

. . . and I put out some food for the jackdaws . . .

. . . but didn’t have much time to watch them as we had to drive off to Dumfries for another hospital visit.

I was going for an assessment for a cataract operation. The drive was good, the appointment was on time, and the results were satisfactory, so I should get an operation in the not too distant future. They put drops in my eyes, and they made the light so bright when we left the hospital that I was lucky that I had Mrs Tootlepedal there to drive me home.

Unfortunately, the hospital visit meant that we missed Tony, Marianne, and the dogs when they called in at Langholm on their way back from their holiday, but they let themselves in, had a cup of tea, and went on their way.

My eyes had recovered enough by the time that we got back to let me add a couple more roses to the catalogue . .

. . . and notice the first day lily of the summer.

I filled the seed feeder and was rewarded by a lot of immediate action from siskins, goldfinches and a greenfinch.

In the evening, our friends Mike and Alison came round, and while Mrs Tootlepedal and Mike caught up on the news, Alison and I played duets for recorder and keyboard. I was pleased to think that if I get my eye operation, I might find reading the small notes a little bit easier. All the same, we enjoyed our playing.

The flying birds of the day are two battling siskins.

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

24 thoughts on “Seeing the light

  1. When they dilate your eyes here they give you a pair of throw away dark glasses. I can’t even stand looking at a computer monitor when they do mine.
    Those liverworts are amazing. They look to be about as happy as a liverwort could be.
    That’s a lot of roses.

  2. Looking at your beautiful roses makes me want to go out and buy at least one for our little green space. Good news re your eyes at least and an op. I will be interested to hear how that goes as I will need one in the next 5 or 6 years.

    1. I am quite interested in how it goes too. The nurse said that I shouldn’t get my hopes up too much as they will be treating an eye that has been poor all my life and it isn’t going suddenly to get wonderful even with a new lens.

  3. Great start to the day reading your daily adventures, thank you. Foxgloves and large daisies abound down here along the roadside verges and in the fields. Sadly, I’ve only seen a couple of bumblebees all year. It is depressing to see so few insects of any kind. Glad to hear progress is being made towards a cataract free tootlepedal. Keep tootling, cheers.

    1. Our insect count is severely down too. We have had a few bees but hardly any white butterflies at all. It is worrying, and it is more worrying that those with power to do something about it don’t seem to care at all.

  4. I especially love the green and gold backgrounds in the birdfeeder photos. It seems like you have a good number of attendees at the seed dispenser. No sign of the quail here this year, and I wonder what has happened to them.

    I enjoyed all the colorful blooms, too. Good luck with the cataract consultation, and hopefully Dropscone gets good news, too, for whatever he is going in for.

    1. They are jut checking up on Dropscone’s health in general.

      The willows are behind the feeder to protect the birds from hawks but they do produce a nice light on a sunny day.

  5. I’m beginning to think birds eat more in the summertime. I’m sure it’s true if they’re feeding young. You managed to capture them beautifully after enduring those drops in your eyes.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.