Busy doing nothing

Today’s guest picture was taken by my brother Andrew who was visiting Uttoxeter.  He is working his way back to fitness after a health setback and instead of climbing big hills, he is lurking in the lowlands at present…..and not visiting hostelries, however attractive.

UttoxeterWe had a day with no engagements in the diary at all and I was helped in a scheme of utter idleness by a wet and gloomy morning.  I did manage to summon up the energy to get up to the High Street to order more bird food and I returned by the monthly Producers’ Market in the Buccleuch Centre.  I returned home laden with fish,  good cheese and the first honey of the new season from a bee-keeper in Eskdalemuir.  She told me that it was mostly based on hawthorn blossom.  It tastes delicious.

As I had been out cycling at coffee time yesterday, Dropscone kindly arranged to make some Friday treacle scones although it was Saturday and we enjoyed them with some Peruvian coffee when he brought them round.

Apart from a little gardening activity from time to time as the weather improved,  I did nothing that took me more than forty yards from my easy chair for the rest of the day.  I would have gone for a relaxing pedal in the afternoon sunshine if it hadn’t been accompanied by a 25 mph wind.

I picked up my camera often enough to catch a bird or two.

pigeon
A pigeon looking strangely out of place in the plum tree
Greenfinch
A very fluffy looking greenfinch thinking about things

I read in the paper that blue tits have had a disastrous breeding year in Scotland this year so I was pleased to see a couple on the feeder even if I haven’t seen any young.

blue titsThe sun drew me out of my chair and into the garden from time to time and there was lots to enjoy.  There had been heavy rain overnight but the flowers by and large had taken no hurt.  Even the tall delphiniums were still standing up proudly.

delphiniumsIn spite of its demure appearance, each delicate blue flower has a snarling tiger at its heart.

delphiniumsI missed out the roses today and instead looked closely at some other flowers.

clematis
A clematis gradually unfurling
campanula
Several campanulas are out
clover
The ornamental white clover conceals an interesting interior
poppy seed head
A poppy seed head with additional sparkle

As we are getting nearer to the Common Riding, the sound of horses hooves can often be heard on our street.

Jock Corrie
Jock gave us a cheerful wave as he passed.

I did a little compost sieving and almost as soon as I had finished, Mrs Tootlepedal had dug it in to a flower bed where she had removed some surplus daisies and planted some cosmos.

The day got better (apart from the wind) as it went on and it was very pleasant watching Mrs Tootlepedal toiling away.  A new Philadelphus has come out with flowers as big as roses on it.

philadelphusI had to ask Mrs Tootlepedal what this decorative plant is called.

heucheraShe tells me that it is a Heuchera.

spirea
The tiny flowers on a spirea reveal considerable co0mplexity in a close up.

A lone knapweed has come out, far ahead of the rest of the flowers in the clump.

knapweed
I am hoping to get some good insect shots when the others arrive as insects love knapweed.
stachys
Nearby a stachys puts in a claim as hairiest plant in the garden.

The peonies have survived the rain very well….

peony…but since I learned on a TV programme tonight that they are from the Himalaya regon, I suppose that this should not be surprising.  The coral peonies have gone over leaving a stand of seed heads looking for all the world like a small flock of baffled chickens.

peonyDuring the day, two more photographers brought round pictures for our exhibition and I will take them all up to Eskdalemuir tomorrow and see how many I can fit into the exhibition space.  I think that a system of rotation will have to be devised.

It was good to have a relaxing day.  I couldn’t choose between these two flying siskins so they are jointly the flying bird of the day today.

flying siskins

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

35 thoughts on “Busy doing nothing

  1. It was very kind of Dropscone to bring Friday treacle scones on Saturday.

    I like the baffled chickens, one of many reason I follow your blog, your sense of humor to go with your terrific photos.

  2. Glad you enjoyed a more peaceful day than is your wont. Loved all the flowers especially the close up of the delphinium, a treat to see it blown up like that.

  3. Silent street motionless it seems
    followed by birds and flowers stream
    colorful and cheerful
    happy and gay
    silent yet laughing away 🙂

  4. Keep an eye on that lovely Heuchera – in time, it should shoot out some lovely spikes topped with delicate flowers. I enjoy your close shots showing the beautiful detail in the interiors of the blooms.

  5. I very much enjoyed the rather unusual close-ups of the flowers. The baffled chickens, the snarling tiger, the sparkling poppy seed head…very interesting and beautiful! The inner flower shots that I take are often just a blur. You have a steady hand and good eye.

    1. I put it down to a really good camera as I wish that my hand was steady. I take everything at a pretty high ISO and the picture quality stays reasonable.

  6. Loved the thoughtful greenfinch. No wonder your flowers do so well with all Mrs T’s hard work and your composting. The peony is spectacular.

  7. Seems you didn’t succeed in finding lots of things not to do, not quite anyway. I look forward to learning more about Common Riding in due course.

    That peony wouldn’t be called Raspberry Ripple would it by any chance? It looks good enough to eat.

    Crikey, it started hailing as I wrote that last sentence – I fear for the ‘plastic’ roof of my porch! And hopefully the cats gave found shelter – they’re quite good at that.

  8. I cannot believe all the flowers and plants you have. It’s totally amazing to me. Sounds like a full day to me for doing nothing. Just the treacle scones and Peruvian coffee alone.

  9. Poor Blue Tits. They probably couldn’t find enough tiny caterpillars at the right time because of the cold spring. Beautiful flowers again – I love the close-up shots.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.