A dilemma

Elephant

Today’s guest picture’s subject was spotted in the window of what she called a ‘posh shop’ in Mayfair by my sister Susan.  It must be quite posh indeed if it is selling this.

Elephant

We woke to another day of undiluted blue sky.  There was an additional factor though.  This was the view of the green hill I walking on yesterday as seen from our garden today.

Castle Hill in snow

The snow wasn’t deep and had largely gone by the end of the day.  There was only the merest sprinkling of snow in the town itself but it was enough to provide some seriously slippery patches of ice for the unwary pedestrian.  Mrs Tootlepedal and I had to pick our steps carefully as she headed to the church…

Langholm Parish Church

…for a choir practice and I headed to the Archive Centre to read the meter.

With the meter read,   I picked my way carefully along to the Kilngreen in pursuit of oyster catchers.  There were none to be seen and I had to content myself with a passing duck or two…

ducks

…and a sedentary flock of gulls.

black headed gulls

You can see the light sprinkling of icy snow in the picture above and I spent some time wondering whether I should put on my Yaktrax and go for a walk.  I took a picture of the Kilngreen and the Meeting of the Waters while I pondered…

Meeting of the waters

…and another of a view of Whita across the Esk as I walked home, still pondering…

Whita

…and then I made myself a cup of coffee while I was still trying to make my mind up and in the end I had spent so much time swithering that the opportunity had slipped past and I put a week of the newspaper index into the Archive Database instead.  At least I was at no risk of slipping over indoors.

While I was tapping away, I received a call from Dropscone to say that the doctors wouldn’t let him out of hospital for a day or two yet as they weren’t happy that his lung was in good enough condition.  He was understandably fed up but at least it made me feel a bit better about not having risked a fall in the icy conditions.

I had a look out of the kitchen window from time to time but the feeder remained in deep shade and I had to look elsewhere to see birds.

chaffinch and sparrow

When the feeder finally came into the light, the birds were most uncooperative and flew everywhere except into the centre of my lens.

uncooperative birds

Some bird lovers in the town have seen no goldfinches in their gardens this winter at all so I am pleased that we have  small flock of regular visitors to brighten us up.  They were here again today.

goldfinches

As usual though our stock-in-trade are the chaffinches.

sparring chaffinches

After lunch, I went off to play trios with Mike and Isabel and we had an enjoyable session.  We played two Telemann sonatas and two Mozart Divertimentos so we weren’t lacking in good quality stuff to play.  We did our best to do the material some justice.

When I got  home, I noticed a blackbird tucking into the coconut treat…

blackbird

..and then I had a cup of tea with Mike Tinker, shifted some compost from Bin C to Bin D and finally enjoyed a phone conversation with a customer services person from the Archive Centre power providers.

I have formally complained about the incomprehensible bills they keep sending in spite of having many meter readings and they keep asking for more meter readings.  They asked for some today.   I gave them some and pointed out that their bills are incomprehensible.  They sucked their teeth and said that they would get back to me.  I was remarkably calm.

The International Space Station was due to fly over Langholm at tea time so we went out to look.  It was a very good night for staring into the sky.  I saw the moon very clearly….

half moon

…but only caught a glimpse of the space station as I had got bored and drifted off before it came.

After tea,  my flute pupil Luke came and for the first time we played through all four movements of a Loeillet trio sonata which we have been practising for some time, accompanied by my computer at the harpsichord.  We had to stop and restart a couple of times but we got through and were very proud of ourselves.

Our short but very welcome spell of calm, cold and sunny weather looks to be coming to an end but it has been a real pleasure to have had a few days when we weren’t in danger of being either blown away or flooded.  People have been very cheerful as they walked round the town.

The flying bird of the day is a late afternoon chaffinch.

flying chaffinch

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

37 thoughts on “A dilemma

  1. Glad to hear Dropscone is improving! No snow here yet this year, and the grass is greening up nicely.

    Beautiful photos of your countryside, including the moon. Countryside in common we can both see!

  2. Walking on ice can take a lot out of you but I’m glad you were able to get out enough to take the shots of your beautiful snow covered hills.
    That’s a great shot of the moon. That’s something I haven’t done in a while.
    Too bad about them changing Dropscone’s release date but I’m sure the doctors know best when it comes to lungs.

  3. I love your picture of the church. The uncooperative feeder birds are wonderful as well. And that moon shot is lovely.

    The elephant at the beginning reminds me of Lucy the Margate Elephant, an entire building shaped like an elephant near Atlantic City, which we will be touring on Saturday (weather permitting).

  4. We had snow this morning too and lots of sleet and hail showers all day. Your moon photo is excellent and I love the FBotD. I am sorry Dropscone has to stay longer in hospital – I hope he improves quickly.

  5. I loved the photo of the church, and the images of the snow covered hills were superb as well!

    It’s too bad that your string of cold but sunny days is coming to an end, I’ve really enjoyed your landscape photos from the past few days.

    I hope that Dropscone’s health improves enough to be released from the hospital, it must be terribly boring for him to be stuck there.

  6. Delighted to see that you had more sunshine, and snow to make the hills look most attractive.
    Commiserations to Dropscone. Hope he will be out of hospital soon.
    And congratulations on the Loeillet sonata achievement.

  7. Beautiful moon shot. I never thought of birds eating coconut, that’s very interesting. I too hope Dropscone gets out of the hospital soon. What a surprise, to me at least, to see snow covering all your usual green.

    1. I think that birds do eat coconuts. I am fairly sure that we used to buy the whole nut and split it to hang up. You mustn’t give them dessicated coconut though.

  8. I love the elephant in the window photograph with its reflection of the buildings across the street. The moon shot is so pretty, how amazing you could see the space station! And the birds…especially the last one. Hope dear Dropscone is on the mend!

    1. The space station is very easy to spot, being much brighter than the stars. You can find out when it passes over you by looking at their website.

  9. The moon shot is excellent! I’ve just discovered my new camera takes quite good night sky shots so I’m rather excited. The power provider situation seems like it will go on forever. I hope not. That would certainly try my patience.

  10. I think we should supply Dropscone with a small laptop and a set of noise-blocking headphones. He could amuse himself by emailing complaints to the power company about its intractibility. I hope someone has brought him some excellent treats.

    I saw that moon – it was very bright and I enjoyed it. I was walking the dogs and did not have the camera, so it’s nice to admire it again in your photo.

    The church is quite beautiful, as are the snowdusted shots of the Usual Suspects.

    1. He tried a set of noise blocking headphones but couldn’t get on with them.

      The moon was very fine. I didn’t have to process the picture at all, just crop it.

  11. Snow, sun and moon photos, what more could you want? He fully the utility company will soon get your bill sorted out. Don’t hold your breath though.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.