Coffee, cake and a quick circle

Today’s guest picture is another from my brother’s current visit to Spain. This is a monument in Madrid. The sculptural group in its centre represents Cybele, a Phrygian earth and fertility deity. What she is doing in Madrid is a mystery.

We had much warmer overnight temperatures today, and it was mild enough for me to consider whether I needed my coat when I walked up to have coffee with Sandy in the morning. I took it just in case.

I looked round the garden before I left, and found a familiar figure perched on the hedge. It is his home from home.

Sandy was in good form, just having had a weekend visit from his two grandsons which he had thoroughly enjoyed. He made the pot of strong coffee, and after we had had a good chat, I walked home with a spring in my step.

While I had been busy drinking and talking, the birds had been busy nibbling at the feeder, and they were still going at full speed when I came back.

Some birds waited patiently in the wings.

Among the visitors, I spotted a ringed siskin.

I dead headed some daffodils in the garden, trimmed a hedge, and then went in to make a gingerbread in the air fryer. After lunch, Mrs Tootlepedal went off to meeting about creating an embroidered artwork to celebrate the community buy out of the Tarras Valley Nature Reserve, while I did some mowing while waiting for the gingerbread.

Because I was using the steam bake function, I had miscalculated how long it would take the gingerbread to cook. When it finally came out, I didn’t have as much time as I had hoped for an afternoon cycle ride. Instead of going for a leisurely spin on my push bike, I ended up going for a quick dash round Canonbie on my electric bike.

There had been enough rain for me to take the washing in before I left, but as I had sensibly put on my wet weather cycling gear, the weather gods made sure that it kept dry for my ride. It was still a grey day though . . .

. . . but there were hopeful sights tucked away as I went round.

I saw early signs of greater stitchwort . . .

. . . and Jack by the hedge . . .

. . . which should soon be lining my cycle routes.

I used my electrical assistance freely any time I approached something that even looked like a hill, and at the same time I pedalled as hard as I could, both uphill and down, with the result that I actually got home quite early, and met Mrs Tootlepedal coming into the house at exactly the same time as I did.

After a test slice of the gingerbread and a cup of tea, we had a Zoom meeting with our son Alistair and his daughter Matilda. Matilda turned ten at the weekend, and she herself had decorated her birthday cake, prepared by her father and mother, in very fine fashion.

Photo courtesy of Alistair

After the Zoom, I went for a walk round the garden. There was nothing new out, but still plenty to please the eye.

While I was out in the garden, I saw that the birds were visiting the feeder even though I was quite close by. Usually they make themselves scarce if we are close, but I had just refilled the feeder, and perhaps that was why they ignored me today. Tulips made a colourful background for goldfinches, siskins and chaffinches.

It is not often that I take pictures of the feeder which are not shot through a window.

It was soon time for our next Zoom, this time with my sisters in England and my brother who joined us from Spain. He was recovering both from an enormous amount of walking yesterday, and viewing a vast number of paintings today. He likes to get full value from his visits.

As we had a surplus of eggs needing to be used up, I made omelettes for our evening meal, and that ended what had been quite a busy day for us both.

The flying birds of the day are a goldfinch and a siskin, seen from the garden.

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

27 thoughts on “Coffee, cake and a quick circle

  1. Ten? How did that happen? Yikes! A very yummy looking cake. 

    I look forward to seeing the result of the embroidered work celebrating the buyout – it sounds like a most suitable way to mark the grand achievement. 

  2. It’s always good to get together with a friend. Gingerbread sounds good and the cake looks good too. I really like that picture with the two trees that’s sort of in the middle of your post.

  3. I’m glad to hear Sandy is feeling chipper. I hope he’s able to get outside.

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen trout liles bloom like those are doing. It’s amazing.

    It’s hard to believe that Matilda is ten years old already. Clearly, she takes after her grandmother. That’s quite a cake. I hope she has a Happy Birthday!

    1. She had a good time over a birthday weekend with family and friends all helping. The trout lilies are going well this year, I agree. Sandy has an appointment soon which he hopes will lead to progress.

  4. Your bird photos are always so delightful. I had no idea they were usually taken through a window – they all look beautifully clear and sharp.

    Sounds like a very nice, if short, ride. (Agree that the best prevention for rain is to put on rain gear!) It was fun to see what’s blooming where you live.

    Your granddaughter did a fantastic job on her cake. And congratulations on the buyout – that must be very satisfying for all involved.

  5. The bird photos are very good, very clear. I’m learning more about birds generally from blogging, and recently I read about goldfinch and chaffinch…very pleased with myself!
    Matilda’s cake looks amazing, my granddaughter would be envious..😁😊

    1. The cake maker (Dad), the cake coverer (Mum) and the decorator (Matilda) were all pleased with their work. I am glad to have introduced you to goldfinches. They are very pretty birds in my view.

  6. A delightfully busy day. Your windows must be kept exceptionally clean for your bird pictures are very clear. How good to be able to photograph the birds from outside though.

  7. That’s a delicious looking cake with excellent decorations! Excellent too are all the bird photos- the mottled background somehow adds to them! Pleased your brother is still enjoying his holiday with the great photo of the statue…finding out more about it on Google!

  8. That is a beautifully decorated cake by Matilda.

    I enjoyed your spring photos of birds and flowers. The gingerbread sounds worth the wait it took to finish.

    Mornings are still down in the 30s here.

    1. We are keeping above freezing at the moment but it is not getting very warm during the day. The north wind gives us fine weather but keeps us cool.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.