No time to sit and stare today

Today’s guest picture comes from our friend Bruce and his holiday in Yorkshire. The authorities are quite happy to direct people to Rosedale, but they don’t seem to care about giving them a clue about where to go when they came back the other way.

Unlike yesterday when I did one thing for a long time, I did lots of things today for a relatively short time. This meant two many pictures and a late start for the post, so it is going to be rather garbled galleries. Click on a picture for a fuller view of you wish.

We got up early and I had time to nip out into the garden to see how my two favourite roses are doing . . .

. . . before we cycled up to the tree nursery on the Tarras Valley Nature Reserve to water the trees in the nursery at Cronksbank before the day got too hot. There was a carpet of white clover at the nursery gate, and the geraniums are still looking good. We stopped on the way back to admire orchids among the horsetail beside the road, alerted by the sight of ragged robin which often grows near orchids.

I had time to put my bike on charge when I got home, before I walked up to have coffee with Sandy, His mobility is quite limited by his ongoing foot problems, but he remains remarkably cheerful and good company. There are lots of good things in his garden too. I spotted a bottle fly on a flower head as I went home.

When I got home, I joined Mrs Tootlepedal in the garden for a while . . .

. . . before the heat of the sun drove me in to cool off, read the papers and do the crossword. I checked on the birds while I was inside . . .

. . . and then popped out into the garden again before lunch.

A late red rose has just produced its first flower.

I have been doing quite a bit of cycling lately, and neglecting my walking legs as a result, so although it was still sunny and quite hot (25°C/77°°F) after lunch, I went for a walk.

My plan was to head up a hill as soon as possible. There was a bit of a breeze blowing which might keep me cool. I purchased an ice cream on the Kilngreen and made for the monument on the top of Whita Hill, going up by way of the road to the MacDiarmid memorial and the track to the summit. I was helped by some kindly clouds which floated overhead and gave me occasional breaks from the direct sun. It was still warm when I got to the top, but the breeze did its job.

It was such a good day for walking that when I had got to the monument, I continued on to the edge of the last hill in Scotland, and looked down over the Solway Plain. In the distance, I could see a glimpse of the Solway Firth and the flat lands where I had cycled yesterday.

I followed the path down to the end of the wall which you can see on the left in the picture above, and then turned to walk round the back of the hill to the cairn at the Castle Craigs. The path is very faint among the heather and blaeberries, but I had done it before so I knew it was there, though from time to time it took the eye of faith to see it. I looked over the valley to Cronksbank where we had been earlier in the morning, and at a splendid view of the nature reserve from the cairn at the Castle Craigs.

From the castle Craigs, I walked on round the hill and then back to Whita Well on the track down the Birnie Braes, and thence down past the golf course to the Kirk Wynd and the town. I looked at the wild flowers as I passed the golf course.

I have had many unsuccessful efforts at photographing the red clover this year, but the light must have been better today, because I got a better result than usual.

It had become quite overcast as I came down the hill, but it was muggy, and as I lost the cooling breeze, it got too warm for comfort . . .

. . . and I was glad to get into the house and have a cup of tea.

We have a carpet of clover at our back door too at the moment.

The Strava app on my Phone which I use to record my walks malfunctioned today, and when I got home it proudly announced that I had done three miles in 23 seconds. As I had been out for over two hours, this seemed a bit improbable, and further research with a map showed that I had walked about six miles, quite a bit further than I had intended when I set out, but very enjoyable so I wasn’t complaining.

After the pause for refreshment, we went out into the garden again and Mrs Tootlepedal helped me pick the blackcurrants. It was not a great crop but they were nice and ripe, and there might be just enough of them to make a jar or two of jelly.

Then there was time for a shower and a light evening meal, before we walked down the road to the Buccleuch Centre to see a company of six young actors put on a very entertaining account of Shakespeare’s Midsummer Night’s Dream. We thought that they were particularly good at making sure that everything that they said was clear and understandable while maintaining a good quality of verse speaking. As all six actors had multiple parts, they not only had a lot of lines to remember but also the job of remembering which part they were playing at any given time. There was a good house and they were given a resounding round a applause at the end of the play.

We walked in home with the temperature still at 19 degrees feeling quite midsummery ourselves. As the temperature is set to plummet tomorrow and with added rain, the play was a very good way to celebrate our brief spell of summer weather.

As you can imagine in all this activity, I didn’t have time to hang around waiting for a flying bird to turn up, so a starling doing some seed tidying up is the non flying bird of the day.

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

25 thoughts on “No time to sit and stare today

  1. Such beautiful photos from your walk from roses to starling! I very much enjoyed the pink on green compositions, but my favorite was the horsetails. I can imagine having wall paper covering an entire wall of that!

    The suet in the bird feeder here is not going down as quickly. I suspect the jays and starling youngsters have fully fledged and gone their own way now, the parents not needing to break of chunks of suet and feed it to them. They must be breathing a sigh of relief. There are a lot of band tailed pigeons showing up. now Still no sign of our quail.

  2. Your summer heat is akin to what we are expecting on our winter’s day later on – for us it is a glorious break from the cold weather we have been experiencing. I am sorry to learn of Sandy’s ongoing foot problems.

  3. Yes, we are also experiencing cold weather, and it is hard to have dreary weather most the time.

    As we are having this weather, I am enjoying the colour of all your flowers, they seem to jump out of the screen with colour and cheerfulness!

      1. I don’t know.But these were definite what we call blaeberries and they looked quite ripe. I checked my back pictures but couldn’t find any to give me a clue about when they are usually out.

  4. That was an energetic walk/climb. You had some splendid views

    The play sounds excellent, and a great advantage if the words are spoken clearly.

  5. A well balanced day. Nice to know there are still young actors travelling about and doing a lot with very little.

  6. I’ve never seen a red clover that looked like that one. I’m going to have to look a little closer.
    White clover is a great thing for a lawn. It should help that strip by the driveway.
    That was a great walk on a beautiful day, and it’s too bad Sandy couldn’t have been with you. I used to really enjoy reading about your walks together.

  7. Beautiful views over those hills and valleys with lovely blue skies and cloudscapes to enjoy. Excellent photo of the red clover…I’ve tried and failed to ‘capture’ one many times!

  8. Yes, horsetails are sculptural and a plant of great antiquity. I also wince every time I see them and remember the trouble we had reclaiming the corner of our garden that hosted them. The rest of the post was very calming and restful and, in the matter of your speed, amusing. 🙂

  9. Ah, nothing like Midsummer Night’s Dream on a summer evening. We had an outdoor version in the park last year. All the flowers are beautiful, but the red clover is absolutely stunning.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.