The inside story

Matilda

Today’s guest picture, from our daughter-in-law Clare, provided the only ray of sunshine we saw all day.  You can see what made Matilda so happy tomorrow.

Matilda

It was a foul day here as far as the weather went, the authorities having decided that one sunny day at a time was more than enough for us.

I sneaked out in the rain whenever it wasn’t too bad and I will insert a soggy flower from time to time in this post.

poppy

Luckily I had plenty to do so time didn’t weight too heavily on my hands.

In the morning, I went up to the Welcome to Langholm office and settled down to put a week or two of the newspaper index into the Archive Group database.  I couldn’t get as much work done as I hoped because I was frequently interrupted by the need to welcome people seeking  information.  I suppose that I shouldn’t complain about that.

One of the visitors was looking for a book of graveyard inscriptions and she remarked in passing how useful the Archive Group website had been in her family history research.  I pointed to the computer and told her that I was adding to the site at this very moment and she was suitably impressed though not quite so impressed as to offer us a voluntary donation for our funds.

dahlia

Another visitor was a descendant of a chemist in the town and I pointed out to him that both the chemist and his shop could be found on our picture archive page.

It stopped raining very politely for long enough for me to walk home after my stint was over.  It started again quite soon afterwards.

In the afternoon, Mrs Tootlepedal went off to buy some flowers to fill in a few gaps in the beds that her recent tidying up activity had created and I set about a mixture of practising songs for our Carlisle choir and printing out photographs for the forthcoming Canonbie Flower Show.

My main concern while printing out the pictures was to try to get the printed results to look a bit brighter than the printer wants them to look.  This takes a bit of learning and the results were variable though the frog in the box ball came out well.

Fuschia

Mike Tinker came round for a cup of tea and a biscuit and we were just finishing when Mrs Tootlepedal returned from her shopping trip.    I was amazed to find that she had actually bought three plants as she usually looks for a long time and then decides that things are not quite what she wanted or they are a bit too expensive or the whole matter needs more thought.  A sound way of going on but one which I find a bit testing on my patience.

She explained her purchasing activity by claiming that she was haunted by the sound of my voice behind her saying, “For goodness sake, buy something.”  So she did.

stargazer lilies

The evening was filled with music as first my flute pupil Luke came and then I went off to play trios with Mike and Isabel.  It was the first time that we had played for a month and there was a certain amount of rust evident but as always, it was a very enjoyable evening.

The rain is pouring down again as I write this.  I have ordered an ark just in case.

virginia creeper

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

26 thoughts on “The inside story

  1. Nice to see Matilda looking so cheery. Sorry about the mean lady and congratulations on that stunning close up of the fuchsia. Is it going into the show?

  2. Matilda does look quite pleased about something! The flowers are beautiful, even covered in raindrops. 🙂

    We have had some clouds, but just a misting rain, nothing more. Enough to scent the air with petrichor, a welcome scent of approaching autumn and the return of the rains.

  3. Mrs T’s explanation for the purchase of her three plants made me laugh out loud! I am looking forward to finding out why Matilda looks so pleased and is that autumn colour I can see on your last photo?!

  4. What a bright, pretty face! Can’t wait to learn what made her so happy. Oh, the rain you’ve had! Has it stunted the vegetables?

  5. I’m looking forward to seeing photos of your ark when it arrives! The flowers do look beautiful even in the rain, and I can just imagine the conversations you and Mrs. T have while she’s shopping for plants. I think that it’s about the same whenever a man and woman go shopping together, men are buyers, women are shoppers, as if every purchase is a matter of life or death.

    The prints I’ve been making since I purchased a printer tend towards the dark side also. Since I use Lightroom, I make a proof copy, and adjust the brightness of the copy to achieve the correct brightness of the prints.

  6. I do like photos with raindrops on them and we’ve seen quite a few this year! Pleased your frog photo came out well- it was special. Being nosy – did you find out what plants Mrs T bought?

      1. Thank you for the names…just found them! Shorter plants sound an excellent idea….I’ll enjoy looking them out at the next nursery visit.

      2. Mrs T bought a rudbeckia which claimed to be a short sort but it turned out to be very tall. This one should be short she hopes.

  7. I find I have better luck printing my own photos. Some of the local places’ machines tend to want to autocorrect! Have fun with your rain. BTW Matilda looks so much older! Cute.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.