Enjoying a day out in England

Today’s guest picture comes from our son Alistair. He too found some ducks in a pond, but it was a rather classier pond than the little affair in our garden

The day started rather sadly when we waved goodbye to Tony, Marianne and the dogs as they set off to drive back to East Wemyss. It had only been a fleeting visit, but we had been lucky with the weather and yesterday’s walk and the evening meal had been excellent, so it had been a thoroughly good fleeting visit.

They had a day of good weather for their drive home, and after letting the temperature rise from a rather chilly 5°C at breakfast time to a mellow 13° after coffee, I took advantage of some very light winds to go for a longer cycle ride than usual. Arming myself with two bananas, two honey rolls and some dates, I set off over Callister with a view to going through Eaglesfield and down to Gretna, and then visiting the quiet, well surfaced back roads of north Cumbria.

It was a good plan in theory, and a splendid plan in practice. I had a thoroughly enjoyable pedal.

I gave myself plenty of stops to note the sights along the way (and to stretch my legs and back, and fuel up). Here is a selection of what I saw.

Later on, I stopped for a snack and looked over the hedge and saw a ruined little building in a field. I have cycled by this spot many times but I have never noticed this building before. I was baffled as to what it was . . .

. . . but fortunately, it had a helpful notice.

I called in at the bike shop as I came through Longtown to seek news of my electric bike. There was no news yet, and the bike shop mechanic was a bit gloomy both literally and figuratively, because they had been suffering from a power cut all day. I gave them my sympathy and pedalled on home through Canonbie under my own steam, stopping for a final picture on the old main road just before I got to Langholm. The weather had stayed fine for the whole trip.

I had set out with no very specific distance in mind, but as the ride had progressed, it seemed like a good day to try to complete 100 km of pedalling. My route choice, with some calculated wiggling around, was very sound, and I arrived home having covered 62.5 miles, which as I am sure you will have instantly calculated, is 100.6 km, so there was no wasted effort today. It was also the furthest that I have cycled this year by quite a long way, so I was doubly satisfied.

I had enough energy left for a quick walk round the garden with Mrs Tootlepedal before I went in for a cup of tea. Spring is creeping on very slowly still and there was not much fresh to see, but a new euphorbia is always a treat and the spirea and magnolia are looking well.

I had a look at the lupins and was impressed to see that some of them had managed to retain a pearl like raindrop at their centre, even after two sunny days. Once again, I was struck by how whiskery the leaves are when you look closely.

Mrs Tootlepedal had bought a chicken to feed our visitors yesterday and it had not been used because they kindly brought down and cooked a lamb joint. As a result, we had roast chicken with roast potatoes and gravy cooked in the airfryer for our meal tonight. We have eaten like kings and queens over the last two days.

In all the excitement, I didn’t have time to bird watch at the feeder today, so I took the camera out into the garden to see if there were any birds overflying us. A couple of starlings shot off the top of an electricity pole . . .

. . . and I just managed to catch one of them to act as flying bird of the day.

Footnote: For those interested in these things, here is a map of today’s ride. You can see that after a slightly hilly start, it was a very flat affair. Click on the map for further details if you wish.

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

29 thoughts on “Enjoying a day out in England

  1. Wow that was an impressive ride. I doubt I would manage that even in my ebike! Lovely photos as always.

    1. It was a pretty flat route and a very light wind and I don’t rush about these days so it was just a matter of sitting comfortably and enjoying the views.

  2. A splendid cycle ride on a beautiful spring day. Love all the celandines ( a bumper year for them!) daffodils and marsh marigolds they really brightening the verges with their colour. You deserved your delicious dinner after burning all those calories on your ride. One of the best maps- I do enjoy seeing all the calculations and the route zooming by! Well done!

  3. What a ride, you have certainly earned you evening meal with the family, always a lovely thing to do.
    Thanks for the map, that was most interesting.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.