An early start

Today’s guest picture is another from our son Tony’s highland holiday. He, Marianne and the dogs visited Gruinard Bay and Ullapool today. If only the weather in the west highlands was always like this, it would be hard to find a more beautiful place to visit.

The weather forecast here for today suggested that if a cyclist wanted to get the best of the weather, an early start would be recommended. There was possible rain later, and it seemed likely that the wind would get up a bit too.

As a result, I leapt lightly out of bed at 6:30 (the leaping may be pardonable literary exaggeration, ‘staggering’ could be more accurate), cooked my porridge, packed couple of bananas into my bicycle bank, waved farewell to Mrs Tootlepedal, and set off at 7:30.

I was about so early that the bulls at the Bloch had not got up, but by the time that I had got a few miles further on, both cows and sheep were active.

I found it slow going into the light wind as I had chosen an undulating start along the Lockerbie road for my trip, so the first twenty miles took me all of two hours and a minute or two more. After that, the wind became more helpful and the undulations much less marked, so I speeded up a little over the next thirty miles.

Rather than give a blow by blow account of the outing, I have arranged the pictures that I took into thematic galleries. I saw bridges. (I usually cross the bridge at Paddockhole when I come to it, but today I passed it by.)

I saw flowers.

Thanks to the undulations, I got some good views on my way to Tundergarth where I stopped at the church. I have added a grand avenue from a bit later in the ride.

I didn’t have enough food with me, so I stopped at a cafe in Gretna, right on the border between Scotland and England and I had a scone and a coffee before the final push home. To keep foreign visitors fully informed, the cafe has two clocks on the wall.

Thanks to my early start, I got home in time for lunch. Mrs Tootlepedal had spent a busy morning in the garden, and there were many little heaps of plants waiting for shredding and composting.

We had a walk round before lunch. Some roses complained that I had missed them out of yesterday’s gallery. (I sneaked a second shot of Special Grandma in because she was looking pretty well perfect today.

There was some good colour about.

I was intending to have a full afternoon of being useful in the garden, but we made the fatal mistake of settling down to watch a moment or two of a hilly stage of the Tour de France. It turned out to be an absolute gripper, and the moment morphed into more than two hours.

We did finally get back out into the garden, where I shredded, composted, mowed and weeded, and Mrs Tootlepedal added some more flowers to our ‘wild’ front lawn and protected a bed from the depredations of the sparrows with some netting.

For any reader who is wondering how our lentil forest is coming on, I took a picture of some fine pods.

Whether the lentils in them will ripen is anyone’s guess.

I filled the feeder and took a moment to check on the birds. It started with sparrows as usual . . .

. . . but siskins and greenfinches joined in.

We had potatoes and turnips from the garden with mince for our evening meal and followed that with a good choir practice at the church. All in all, the day went very well.

The flying bird of the day is a sparrow.

I append a route map of today’s cycle outing. Those with time on their hands can click on the map for further details of the ride. In spite of what the map says, it wasn’t very sunny and it was far from warm when I set out, but it was most enjoyable all the same.

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

26 thoughts on “An early start

  1. Your son Tony’s photo is lovely, as you say the West Highlands would be a wonderful place to visit if the weather was sunny all the time. (we often consider that part of the world..one day.) I like Special Grandma Rose, and the Scottish and English clocks…you can never have enough clocks.

  2. I love the sheep photo. You still astound me with all you manage to accomplish in one day. I would have taken at least one long nap. Good to see the Greenfinches. And yes, those clocks.

  3. That pretty yellow garden escapee seems to be flourishing. My guess is you’ll see a lot more of it.
    The clocks gave me a laugh.
    That’s a nice shot of the meandering river. Our rivers are starting to jump their banks in places.

  4. You certainly got up early for that excellent bike ride. Pretty pictures, especially the one of the railway bridge. Fun to see the lentil pods. Will be waiting anxiously to hear if there are lentils inside.

    1. We are not holding our breath as we are not living in lentil growing country, though I see that they are grown in Canada so maybe we will get some.

  5. Great early morning ride,with a fair bit of ascent at a very good avg speed 👍
    Guinard bay looks fantastic. Often wanted to visit the highlands but the swarms of midges always puts me off.
    Maybe going in May might be alright?
    Hope Andy Murray gets through his tough match.

  6. I like Tonny’s Highland shot very much, it looks like a lovely beach with a green surrounding.
    So you made an early start today, and by doing so, you did not miss the etappe of the Tour.

  7. Tony’s photo looks almost tropical in its greenery, and calm blue water and sky serenity. Midges I could do without. An enjoyable set of photos from your day, too. I am also interested in the progress of your lentil forest.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.