A dull post. Sorry.

Today’s guest picture comes from our son Tony. It should answer the question of whether the sun is still shining in East Wemyss for those of you who have been worrying about this.

The sun certainly didn’t shine here today. We started off cold, grey and dry at 1°C, and although it soon got a bit warmer, it also got steadily wetter. I just managed to sneak up to the High Street to pay for birds seed and buy milk and rolls before the rain started.

Then I spent the rest of the morning indoors in the dry, putting more of the newspaper index into the Archive Group database, practising my recorder (much needed), and looking out at the birds (of course). It was just as well that new seed was being delivered today as I have almost run out of my last order in what feels like record time.

The feeder was busy again today.

As well as the birds actually at the feeder, there are usually quite a few chaffinches waiting around on the willows behind. Have a look at the bored couple on the right in the background, staring at each other with nothing new to say.

They were a lot less bored two seconds later when some goldfinches burst into action.

Obviously I am not the only one who enjoys watching the feeder.

After lunch, the rain eased down to a drizzle, so I felt bored enough myself to put on waterproof clothing, pick up an umbrella, and go for a walk. I kept to the roads to avoid paddling about in boggy bits on the hills, and went to Glentarras, three miles away, and then back again.

I enjoyed the freshness of philadelphus in the garden as I set out.

It wasn’t particularly cold under my umbrella, and I peered about at things as I went along.

The weather gods were in excellent form, and waited until I had got to the furthest point of my walk before turning on the taps. It got progressively wetter as I went home. How they laughed.

The only cheery sight was a patch of wood anemones at the foot of a sign telling me that the riverside footpath is closed because of a landslip.

I wasn’t exactly wet when I got home, but I was damp enough to need a change of clothes before settling down to a cup of tea and a slice of gingerbread. As the weather didn’t get any better, that concluded the excitement for the day, though there were dumplings in the second helping of the slow cooked venison stew for our evening meal.

The flying bird of the day is a widespread goldfinch.

Footnote: Dropscone is home from his stay in hospital, and I hope to enjoy a cup of coffee with him tomorrow morning.

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

20 thoughts on “A dull post. Sorry.

  1. The background story of the two chaffinches on the left-hand side of the same picture looks as if some drama might be/have been involved too.

  2. Actually, Tom, it was all quite serine and beautiful. I am especially fond of your close detail of mosses and mushrooms today. I had a restless sleep and found them calming this morning I’m here visiting with Lori and Forrest on their dear ranch in Oklahoma. It is quite a contrast to where you live, but we did also, have a cloudy, moist week. I walked with Lori and the deer and Forrest picked fresh Morels from under the elms in the woods. Two stories, two places in the world with similar results; enjoying natures beauty and moving our bones for our health.

    1. It is good to have the confidence to pick mushrooms to eat. I am sorry that you had a restless night. It is very annoying when you don’t sleep properly.

  3. There is no need to be sorry about the weather. We’re having a stretch of rainy days now too.

    I’m sure the shots of raindrops on mosses and the anemones made this post easy on everyone.

    That’s good news about Dropscone. I hope he’s able to return to the golf course.

  4. Good old East Wemyss and your lovely close up photos to cheer everyone up! No wonder your bird seed disappears so quickly all those little tums to fill!

  5. The birds are getting into nesting season, and this unusually drawn out cold, wet weather must be very hard on them. I am not surprised the seed is going down quickly. Yesterday over here, I saw the fist swallows of the season to return, two of them. The Cooper’s hawk visits from time to time, but I have not seen any piles of feathers nearby.

    Even the wet misty days have their own special beauty, and you captured that well in your photos. The mosses, lichens and mushroom look rather joyous, but they love this weather.

    Glad to hear Dropscone is home, and you will get to visit him.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.