Feeling the heat

Today’s guest picture is another from my Somerset correspondent Venetia’s visit to France. She met a good crowd of sheep .

We had a visitor in the morning. A man came to talk to us about installing a new boiler. It was not long after breakfast when he came. It was a very interesting talk, and by the time he had told us all that we needed to know, and had had a good wander about looking at our radiators and measuring everything from room size to water flow, we found that it was lunch time when he left us.

I had taken my phone out into the garden before he arrived and I spotted a bee on a snowberry flower . . .

. . . and I took a picture of a flying sparrow and a starling while he was doing some measuring upstairs . . .

. . . but apart from that, it was a photography free morning.

I looked at the birds after lunch, and found another sparrow and starling. Some goldfinches appeared and clung on to a feeder that was being swayed about by some more strong winds

Then I got out into the garden, and found that it was a lovely day for a while at least. There’d been a shower in the morning, and there was another one soon afterwards, but between them the sun shone.

After the shower had passed over, Mrs Tootlepedal and I cycled up to the tree nursery at Cronksbank on the Tarras Valley Nature Reserve. Now that summer has come, the managers are anxious that the trees in the nursery should be watered from time to time. Although it has rained a bit lately, it hasn’t rained very much at a time, so we thought we would have a look to see if watering was needed.

On our way, we had just reached the bird hide when it started to rain, so Mrs Tootlepedal very sensibly suggested that we should see out the shower in the bird hide, and watch a few birds while we were doing it. They have improved the reflection pool.

It didn’t take long for the little shower to blow over in the brisk wind, and we were soon on our way again. The sight of wild irises in a marshy spot near the river held me up for a moment . . .

. . . but we soon got to the nursery, and decided that the trees probably could do with a little watering. I turned on the tap and Mrs Tootlepedal applied the water. The rowans were looking particularly healthy.

As well as the trees, there was plenty of other interest, and Mrs Tootlepedal pointed out some moss and liverworts, while I spotted some lovely geraniums.

I had a look up the valley when we had finished the watering . . .

. . . pleased that the weather gods had not laughed at us by turning on another rain shower while we were watering.

I stopped on the way back to the bird hide to look down the valley, and then get up close to the wild irises. As I plugged across the rough ground to the irises, I noticed horsetail and a thistle, so I included them in the gallery.

When we got to the bird hide, I stopped to do a little bird watching, but Mrs Tootlepedal headed straight on home, sensibly thinking it was better to keep going while the sun was out (and having a little shopping to do on her way).

I only spent about a quarter of an hour in the hide looking at this view . . .

. . . but there was plenty to keep me entertained while I was there.

It was pretty breezy as this little video shows . . .


. . . but it didn’t blow in any more showers, and I was able to bicycle home in good weather, well sheltered from the worst of the wind.

Two hours paying close attention to what we were being told, followed by a windy cycle ride and bird watching was quite enough to fill up our day, and we settled quietly in when we had both got home.

The flying bird of the day is yet another sparrow.

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

44 thoughts on “Feeling the heat

  1. The fifteen minutes at the hide was very well spent and worth the risk of being rained on. I’m wondering what the outcome of your visitor will be…I’m staying tuned 😄

    1. We will get a new boiler. We are hoping that it won’t be too long before it arrives but it has to be built at the factory first. They don’t make them until they have sold them.

  2. Actual boilers as a heat source are not all that common here for residential use, but if I substitute the word “furnace”, it makes my bank account quake in fear. Good luck with the quote – although just to be on the safe side perhaps you’d best be sitting when you receive it. 😦

      1. That looks good also! The Kimmerer book is en route to me from the library, but it might take awhile to finish it because I don’t find much time for reading in summer, at least not compared to winter when reading is my life!

        >

  3. The hide for bird watching was a good idea, the photos were very clear. Could you remind me, what is the name of the brightly coloured, red, black and white bird?

  4. It sounds like a useful and informative visit about the new boiler.

    Prizewinning picture of the bird in the reflective pool!

  5. New boiler is always a leap into the unknown? Is it a heat pump? They are growing round here as are the complaints about them… Good Luck. Great bird pictures.

  6. Love the reflecting pool and the irises and chuckled at hoping it wouldn’t rain after you’d watered. We had that happen sometimes when we lived in the Midwest, not so much here in Arizona, where I’d be happy to have that happen. 🙂

  7. A windy, but beautiful variable sky day! I enjoyed your photo selections, and especially loved the views in dappled light, and that startlingly pink wild geranium bloom with its intricate dark pink veining.

  8. Lovely photos of the birds at the hide and by the pond. Lovely to see the wild irises and great to see all those trees growing so well.Hope the new boiler plans go well.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.