A bit of a blow

Today’s guest picture comes from ex Archive Group member Ken. He is currently enjoying life in France. His bridge comes from a cemetery in the village of Mornas,

We woke up to another windy day here. This was not ideal, especially when it started to rain as well, because I was going off to join the Tarras Valley Nature Reserve volunteers at Broomholmshiels, where we took part in work to keep the bracken down. Left to itself, bracken swamps everything, but it can be discouraged and weakened if it is regularly beaten up. My friend Mark supplied this picture of the merry band meeting in pouring rain.

Armed with scythes and bamboos, we got to work. Our leader, Kat, and I cleared bracken off beside a popular path through the woods. I took a before and after picture in an open section and found that it did little to show the immense amount of work we put in to clear the path. Sharp eyed readers will notice that there is quite a lot of bracken still about, even after we had done our bashing and slashing

As we cleared the bracken, we found many tiny saplings growing, and we had to be careful not to cut these down too.

We had been protected from the rain for the most part in the wood, but when we came out to join the rest who were working on the hill, the heavens opened, and I hid under a tree until the rain eased off a bit. Mark captured me in a cheery mood swinging my scythe in the light rain.

Our small team got a lot done in two hours, especially clearing the sides of paths and round newly planted trees. I was very pleased to stop though, as it was hard work plodding about the rough ground in a strong breeze and rain while wearing heavy wet weather gear. We all enjoyed ourselves in spite of the weather.

Needless to say, the sun came out shortly after we stopped work, and by the time that I got home for a late lunch, it was a lovely, if breezy day.

After my lunch, I filled the feeder, and a goldfinch appeared before I had even had time to go inside and collect my camera. It stopped long enough for me to get a shot.

It is good to see that the birds appreciate the seed that we provide.

I did have it in my mind that I would go for a bicycle ride since it was a nice sunny afternoon. However, it came as a bit of a blow to me to find that I simply hadn’t got the energy after the morning’s work to go out and face the breeze again in the afternoon. I like to think that I can do anything I want, but on this occasion, the only thing my body was up for was a little lie down and a snooze. So I had one.

I modified my ambitions from a cycle ride to a walk, but I was too tired even for that, and I settled for a stroll round the garden.

Two clematis have come out . . .

. . . and the rhubarb which we bought at the garden centre next to the hospital in Dumfries on one of our many visits is thriving under Mrs Tootlepedal’s care.

She tells me that I am not allowed to pick any this year, so it is just as well that our old patch has perked up after a very slow start in the cold, wet spring.

The allium moly is very cheery . . .

. . . and I picked out some other bright spots, including two roses which didn’t make it into yesterday’s rose gallery.

After my snooze, we watched the end of today’s stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné, and then I turned my attention to the birds. There were a lot of flighty siskins at the seed feeder . . .

. . . while the jackdaws visited the fat ball feeder.

Mrs Tootlepedal likes the way that the jackdaws always like to keep their partners close.

I spotted a starling on a fence post and had to look twice to see what made it look a little odd.

I wish that my neck was half as flexible as that. I felt more comfortable when normal service was resumed.

As I was getting ready for our evening meal, I had a look out of an upstairs window at the garden below. This is the front garden with its four mini meadows on the lawn . . .

. . . and this is the middle lawn, with no mow May (and June) in evidence.

I can’t take the vegetable garden from above as the house runs out before I get there, so I went downstairs and held my camera up high and took this picture of the third and last bit of the garden.

The drive runs between the house and the garden . . .

. . . and we are very pleased with this section, beside where we park the car, because it used to be gravel like the rest of the drive, but when we left it alone for a while and then mowed it, it has produced a very good looking ‘weed lawn’.

In the evening, I had my third blow of the day, after the morning winds and the afternoon fatigue. This blow was entirely welcome though, as it involved playing the recorder. Our friends Mike and Alison came round for their regular Friday visit, and Alison and I played duets, while Mike and Mrs Tootlepedal chatted. We opened a bottle of wine which tasted better as the evening progressed, a common feature of a bottle of wine in my experience.

I hope that I have recovered enough energy overnight to make use of some better weather which should be on its way tomorrow. (Oh no! I have just looked at the forecast, and the better weather is going to come with 30 mph wind gusts. Another blow.)

The flying bird of the day is one of those busy siskins

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

38 thoughts on “A bit of a blow

  1. There’s nothing that takes it out of you like a scythe. I always found them especially hard on the hips, even when I was in my 20s.

    I liked all the overhead shots of the gardens. They’re beautiful and look to be doing well.

    I also like that frilly pink. I never see those here.

    1. I like those pinks too. We have one little clump in the garden. I think that the lack of scything practice was partly to blame for my fatigue. I might fare better when we do it again.

  2. The drive looks very tidy with the row of paving blocks that you and Mrs. T. put in – well worth all your hard work.

    If I didn’t know you were wielding a scythe, a quick look would make me think you were golfing!

  3. Thank you for today’s post. I’m a few years younger than you, but sometimes I find myself out of energy at the end of the day – too tired to sit at the computer and write or to process and select photos. All I want to do is close my eyes and get some sleep. A couple of hours swinging a scythe would certainly result in that sort of situation for me at the end of the day.

    I enjoyed the overview pictures of the yard and garden. But I couldn’t quite see the site for the bird feeder. Where is it?

    1. The bird feeder is on the right hand side of the drive as you look at the picture of the drive. You can see the pole behind the clump of fern. You can just see the bottom of the feeder pole in the extreme right of the picture of the front garden.

      Is there a way that I can see some of the pictures that you take?

      1. I’ll try sending a photo as an attachment to a reply. We’ll see if it works. This photo was taken out my bedroom window this morning. I’ve seen the pair of them regularly for the past few weeks, probably the entire life of the little one. Unlike you with your birds, I don’t need to buy any feed at the store; the grass just grows on it’s own, and it’s what the mama likes to eat. This is what might happen if you let part of your yard get sufficiently wild, especially if you happen to live next to a small bit of farmland.

        Thomas Thurston ________________________________

  4. Yes to the above comment, at first I thought you may have switched to a golf club!
    The roses look lovely especially the large white one. Great photos of your garden, the layout is most impressive, and it is a big garden, it must keep you both very busy.
    I also like the birds that stay together in couples, we have Magpies who bring their families to the garden in spring which we enjoy.

    Paul and I agree that a bottle of wine tastes better as the night goes on, one of life’s small pleasures.

  5. Well done on scything in the rain! Thank you too for the contextual pictures of the lovely garden around your home.

  6. Clearing the bracken in the wind and rain looks like very hard work. Well done the volunteers.

    Unusual pose of the starling with the flexible head!

  7. That was a very considerable scything achievement. I’m quite relieved to know that you can get tired from your level of activity.

  8. I enjoyed all your photo selections. That was hard work you did on the bracken clearing, and I am not surprised you were tired!

    The starling looking back at you was a good catch, as were the jackdaw pair. The siskens provided a lot of action photos.

    Gravel grows grass and weeds in no time flat. We know that well here from our own gravel drive. 🙂

    1. The ‘weed lawn’ seemed like a good idea to stop us needing to weed at least one section of the drive. The starling was a real treat and I might print it out and enter it into photo competitions at local shows in the summer.

  9. I love seeing the overall views of your garden. Every part looks so interesting and all the borders show different colours, shapes and sizes of plants. The veggie plot looks very productive at present hope the slugs, snails, cats and others leave the veg for you! Good idea to leave the mini meadows- they fit in well. The morning exercise clearing the bracken looked very energetic but worth the effort if the little saplings can see more sky to grow up to! I’m getting to like the jackdaws more these days but that starling is spooky!!

    1. Slugs and birds are having a go and cats are always a nuisance, but Mrs T had upped the protection this year so we are hoping to get some veg.
      I agree about the starling.

  10. I’m with Mrs. T. about the Jackdaws. Corvids are such social birds.
    It seems changes in the weather are punctuated by strong winds all the time now.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.