Not at the races

Today’s guest picture is another from my sister Mary’s recent visit to the Lake District. She sat on the shore of Grasmere while my brother headed for the hills.

We were offered all sorts of discouraging weather by the forecasters, including thunder and lightning, but it was calm and dry as we cycled to church after breakfast. There was a very busy scene when we got to the church, as a flock of house martins was swooping low round the building. There must have been many available insects in the air.

I thoroughly enjoyed the church service. I knew all the hymns, and they came with nice straightforward bass parts. I came out in a very good mood to find that the martins were still swooping about.

After watching the martins for a while, we went home for a coffee. I had a look out of our back window to see how the big red poppies were doing . . .

. . . and then we got out into the garden. I did some mowing, while Mrs Tootlepedal got busy with the strimmer. She left the vegetable garden looking very neat.

I had a few wanders round when the mowing was done, and enjoyed the colour.

There was quite a buzz about the garden today.

After a look at some colourful corners . . .

. . . I went back down to the church to see if the house martins were still flitting about. They were still there, but they had turned their attention to a muddy puddle, where they were collecting nesting material. It was a busy scene.

Some of the mud was being taken across the road to Caroline Street.

I dead headed some poppies when I got home. There are quite a lot growing in the garden at the moment and I added 70 stalks to the compost bin without making much of a dent in the number of flowers still standing.

As we were having our lunch, Mrs Tootlepedal spotted a young starling getting quite cross because it wasn’t getting its lunch. Its parent had got fed up with the incessant demands, and had flown off.

After lunch, Mrs Tootlepedal retired to do some more work on Matilda’s dance costume, and I went for a walk. We had had a much better morning than the forecasters had expected, so I hoped that my luck would hold out in the afternoon. My plan was to walk along the river, up through the oak wood and onto the hill, and it started well, though I was surprised to see how much dark water was swirling down the river. It must have rained more up country than it had in the town.

However, just as I was about to leave the woods and take to the open hill, it started to rain with some purpose. I wasn’t dressed for bad weather, with just a light rain jacket on, so I changed my plan and walked through the woods, under the shelter of the trees , and back into the town.

When I got to the High Street, it had stopped raining , so I kept going, and instead of heading home, I walked onto the Castleholm. If all had gone to the original plan for the day, I would have been here earlier on to enjoy the first horse race meeting of the year. Sadly, the meeting had had to be cancelled because of wet conditions making the track dangerous. It looked very peaceful when I got to it . . .

. . . but the back straight was very soggy, and with the forecast for the day being so bad, the organisers had had no choice but to cancel the meeting.

I strolled about, taking in the red horse chestnut, the meadow round the race track, the noble fir, and some ground elder. (Mrs Tootlepedal was very happy that the ground elder was on the Castleholm and not in her garden.)

When I got to the Jubilee Bridge, the day was pleasant enough to encourage to me walk onwards up the side of the river and round the pheasant hatchery before crossing the Duchess Bridge and walking home. There was a new gate and some wild yellow geums to enjoy on the way.

It started to rain quite heavily just as I was at the far end of the pheasant hatchery, but luckily this was only the weather gods’ idea of a joke, and it soon eased off. I was well protected by trees, and got home damp but not wet after six varied and interesting miles.

I was just in time to join Mrs Tootlepedal as we looked at the final stage of the Giro. We shall miss it now it is over. In spite of a certain predictability about the eventual winner, there have been a lot of good stages to watch, and it is never a hardship to be wafted through Italian countryside and towns.

The starlings were back on our feeder as we had our evening meal, busy feeding more of the demanding youngsters.

It led to a bit of competition.

The forecast for tomorrow is a bit gloomy. Let’s hope that they are being too pessimistic again. It was really quite a good day here today on the whole.

The flying bird of the day is one of the nest building house martins.

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

30 thoughts on “Not at the races

  1. Thanks for Mary’s picture (and all if your own of course). She was telling me about her lovely walk by Grasmere today, as we met during the spare hours I had today in Central London, in preparation for a wildlife trip starting tomorrow to southern France, by Eurostar and TGV.

  2. The photo of Grasmere is another of those that I would like to walk into (not right into the water, but you know what I mean).

  3. Your garden (and Mrs T’s) is really looking lovely at the moment, and so much colour in the countryside generally, I think we’ll have a plan a holiday to some parts of Britain in spring one day!

  4. The gardens, both vegetable and flower, look great.

    The information about the house martins was interesting. We have purple martins here and they are the largest of our swallows.

    It was nice to see the poached egg flower again.

  5. Your garden is looking really lovely and after all that care of the vegetable area you will be getting your own fresh veg – a great bonus.

  6. The forecast here was for heavy rain but so far we’ve just had a few sprinkles as we were out cycling. I wonder if they put out really bad forecasts to encourage people to stay home

    1. I think they do it so that no one can blame them if the weather is worse than the forecast. I feel; that recently, the forecasts have usually been worse than the actuality.

  7. A fine photo of the house martin- they whizz by so quickly you must have a quick finger to snap that shot! Enjoyed your walk, there was lots to see and enjoy. Your garden looks very colourful and the veg patch looks very tidy and productive- very envious!

      1. The preparations are moving forward but life can be rather stressful showing people round your home. Everyone is very pleasant but it is tiring…no offers on our house yet! Getting all the money together to buy the house in Scotland, means raiding all our savings and emptying all our piggy banks which is all time consuming and worrying as the deadline is fast approaching for completion date!! It will all be fine…fingers crossed!

  8. I enjoyed your late spring photo selections, especially the martins at work collecting mud. Thank you for including their nest, too. The starling youngster does look peeved at no lunch being served by his parents.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.