Pulling out all the stops

Today’s guest picture comes from Mary Jo in Manitoba. Not only did her table and umbrella get blown over by a strong gust of wind, they subsequently got covered with an unexpectedly late fall of snow. Mary Jo was not amused.

We did not have snow here today, and we didn’t have rain either. This was slightly strange because the radar maps of rainfall on the weather forecasters’ websites showed Langholm covered in rain. We were very happy to find that they were wrong.

However, it was definitely a bit damp when I had a walk round the garden after breakfast.

There were bright spots though. The aquilegias, which come up where and when they please, this year have come out in a most gratifying variety of forms and colours.

New buds have appeared on the magnolia, fresh flowers have arrived on the philadelphus . . .

. . . and the white dicentras continue to act as bee magnets.

After my garden wander, I walked up to the town and visited the Town Hall, where I was able to browse the microfiches in the library which hold copies of all the back numbers of our local newspaper. I was there to take photographs of several articles about the ancestor of a correspondent who had written to the Archive Group. The light in the library makes it very difficult to get pictures good enough to send, so when I got home, I transcribed three of the articles, and I have sent them off to our correspondent to see if this is suitable

One of the articles described the early stages of building our local railway, and I must say it made for very interesting reading.

I combined this with a cup of coffee and a ginger biscuit. The transcriptions took me up to lunch time, and after that, I had a look at the birds. A sparrow had joined our usual siskins, while a pigeon tidied up below the feeder.

Later, a greenfinch and a sparrow had a competition to see who could look most disagreeable.

As any threat of rain seemed purely imaginary, I went for a cycle ride. I had left it a bit late, so I took my electric bike out to give me a chance to do a few extra miles in the time available. As there was a brisk wind at times, and quite a few hills, this turned out to be a good choice. I went up to Bentpath, and then went on to Eskdalemuir up the east side of the river . . .

. . . and came back to Bentpath down the west side.

The sun came out when I was nearly home.

I didn’t spend time looking for interesting things to photograph, but I couldn’t help noticing a wild iris at Bentpath village.

I went round as fast as I could because I wanted to have time to mow the vegetable garden grass when I got back, and I managed that quite comfortably. I even had time to watch two sparrows sparring.

I was reminded in the nick of time to host the regular zoom meeting with my brother and sisters. Andrew and Mary have got home safely from their trip to the north, though Andrew, who visited Leeds, Goole and Lincoln on his way, only got home as the meeting started.

We had to leave them to finish the meeting themselves, as I got a call from Henry, our church organist, to be the page turner for a visiting organist who was playing a recital in the church this evening. I had to go along a bit early to check on my duties. I noticed a bright red poppy beside the dam as I left the house.

It was a privilege to turn pages for Robert Coates, the visiting recitalist.

He taught music in Langholm for a few years in the 1970s before ending up in Norway, where he lives now. He was only a here for a short while, but he made a great impression, and it was good to meet him again with his wife Else Marie.

The recital was excellent from start to finish, with the added bonus of a lovely song from a local girl, Kayla, who has a very good voice.

After the recital, we chatted to Robert and caught up with two of his (and my) ex pupils, Elaine and Susan. We swapped some good memories.

We hope to have another day of good weather tomorrow before the rain returns just in time to welcome our next set of family visitors to Langholm.

The flying bird of the day is a pigeon rising above it all.

Published by tootlepedal

Cyclist, retired teacher, curmudgeon, keen amateur photographer.

29 thoughts on “Pulling out all the stops

  1. It must have been a trip down memory lane catching up with Robert Coates and his wife, and your shared ex students.. the organ is lovely, beautiful wood.

  2. Snow in Manitoba! I am glad that was not here. The weather has been strange enough.

    The rain bejeweled flowers made very nice compositions, and I am glad you had some good cycling weatehr and some nice views.

    I was hard to choose between the siskin and sparrow, but I I cast my vote with the siskin. 🙂

    I would have loved to hear Robert Coates, and Kayla. That was a nice ending to your day.

    1. We are getting to the stage when we can finally stop worrying about a late frost here. I like siskins but we have seen so many lately that a few sparrows are very welcome.

  3. I’m going to have to start watching for the yellow irises that grow along the river. They’re invasive here.

    I’m glad the snow stayed in Canada. I hope the smoke from the wildfires does the same. Last year it was hard to breathe with all the smoke.

    It’s always nice to see old friends. I’m glad you had the chance.

      1. My husband’s cousin is an organist and we managed to meet up with him when we all happened to be in London and went to one of his concerts. I was surprised just how much I enjoyed it to be honest, though I do love listening to the organ when in church.

      2. It definitely depends on the organist. If they want to show off the power of the instrument, the audience gets a battering, but the organ can be a delicate instrument too.

  4. What an excellent post! I thought Christmas had come early at first … such beautiful pictures from your garden, lovely views and a happy ending! Such days are to be remembered.

  5. Greenfinches are fledged looking disdainful, so they have a natural advantage over other birds in the area of looking disagreeable. The Manitoba picture onfirms all my prejudices about Canadian weather. 🙂

    1. I am sorry to hear that this is still going on. I am having problems answering comments. WP never seems to stop finding new ways to annoy its users.

  6. What a treat, to turn pages for an organ recital! You got to be right inside the music! And they were real pages, too. So many young musicians are using tablets to read music these days, I confess I have not made the switch, however convenient. A tablet would be particularly useless to an organist, though with all that pedal work.

    1. It was good to see the organist as such close quarters. They have a wonderfully complicated task with three keyboards and pedal too. Robert did some neat heel and toe work on the pedals.

  7. Love all the photos of raindrops on the hosta, iris and rose. The wild iris and poppy photo also took my eye. Lovely views on your cycle ride- it all looks very green! Robert Coates seems to have had an interesting life and how fortunate for him to have a proper page turner followed by a welcome reunion.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.